REVIEW: The Crucible Part 1 by Ruby Barnes

Title/Author: The Crucible (Part 1) by Ruby Barnes

ISBN: 9781908943101

Genre: Suspense Fiction

Rating: 4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: Southern Cameroon, West Africa 1936
A virus mutated and crossed the barrier from primate to human. In less than a century it had claimed the lives of twenty-five million people. Africa, a land of natural beauty and riches, ripe for plunder, full of dark menace.

In a near future scenario of viral pandemic, global religious conflict, climate change and mass migration, America and the Middle East are locked in a religious fundamentalist race to Armageddon, while the old nations of Europe flex their imperial muscles. Will mankind rediscover the Garden of Eden or ignite the crucible of the apocalypse?

At first when I read other reviews comparing the author’s style to Tom Clancy I was skeptical. Its like those American Idols hopefuls claiming they sound like Beyonce, when they come out truly sounding like a dying cat. But, this is a really good book! It had me hooked from the first page to the last. I’m not a political buff, usually when someone starts in on politics my eyes cross and glaze over, but this was so much more. From seeing the heart-wrenching “solutions” of third world countries, to the international intrigue, the identity “theft”, the sex…every part of this book kept me reading more and more. I just didn’t want to put it down.I can’t wait to read the next part!

Leave a comment