Feature and Follow Friday

This week’s question:

Q. Do you mind books with similar ideas to other books? Similar concepts, backgrounds, retellings or pulled-to-publish fanfic?

It depends on how closely it follows the idea of the previous book. There was a book I read this year, and I reviewed it, where I came down pretty harshly because it resembled the concept of Superman so closely, it was all I could think of while I was reading the book.

That being said, there are alot of “angel” books out there in YA fiction right now, lots of vampire books out there, lots of the same themes. If the book’s storyline is a unique enough spin that the storyline or concept isn’t banging me over the head with a dull spoon, then I’m perfectly fine with it.

14 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday

    • I think coming up with something completely unique is a very difficult, however, even if you use the same things as others, as long as it is completely difficerent, and stands out from the crowd, its great!

  1. I think if the plot was exactly the same as something we’d read before, it would be extremely boring for us. Variety and different interpretations makes life intriguing!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Following you back on Twitter 😀

Leave a Reply

