REVIEW: Loved in Pieces by Carla J Hanna

Title: Loved in Pieces
Series: Intentions Series
Author: Carla J Hanna
Published Date: Aug 31, 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format: ebook
Pages: 298
ASIN: B0094PE5WG
Copy provided by: Freebooksy
Genre: YA
Add to: Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: 2 1/2 stars

Goodreasds synopsis: A-list actress Liana Marie Michael struggles to find herself when Hollywood’s obsession with youth and power threatens to destroy her future.
While filming her seventh major motion picture, Liana Marie reveals her love for her childhood best friend, patient and compassionate Manuel Biro, a humble bus boy and student athlete. Shocked and thrilled to find he loves her in return, she tries living an almost normal life. All seems lost when her mother’s mistakes lead to harrowing consequences for mother and daughter. Fortunately, Liana Marie comes to understand that her success and the strength born from her love for Manuel are exactly what she needs to shape her uncertain future.

I received a copy of this book from Freebooksy in exchange for an honest review. When I read the blurb, it sounded fascinating. As I read it, the book became more and more of a chore to get through.
Gramatically, everything was good. That’s most likely why its getting 2 1/2 stars, instead of 2.

I found the storyline to be flat, and dragged out interminably. I couldn’t connect to the characters, or thier emotions. The only thing I found realistic was the idea that one pair of parents actually objected to a marriage between two teenagers, whether they are of legal age or not.
As soon as I finished, I asked myself if I cared about any of the characters. Nope. I didn’t care about Marie, not about Manny. I just didn’t care.
The book was as shallow as the Hollywood it was portraying.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Loved in Pieces by Carla J Hanna

Leave a Reply

