Preeti Gupta Interview and Giveaway!

Welcome everyone! I am so excited to be holding my very first author interview and book giveaway, and its one of my absolutely favorite books!

Goodreads book description: Agnosticism + Logic + Faith = My Spirituality

These are the ingredients in my ice-cream cone, along with Soul Energy, Reincarnation, Karma, Detachment, Vegetarianism, Astrology, Meditation, and the Ego. I believe these concepts make some sense based on the tenets of logic and science. Even to a skeptic like me.

But I am entitled to change my mind at any time. If tomorrow someone were to show me some indisputable, miracle-backed proof that their way is the correct way and I will go to Hell if I don’t squat on one foot chanting 3.5 times a week, I will happily throw away my chocolate cone and switch to strawberry.

For now, here is what I believe, and why . . . .

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My review: I’ll Put 3 Chips on God — Just in Case There is One

Author Website: http://www.3chipsongod.com/

Author Interview:

1. What is your book about?

The book is about Spirituality, analyzed from an agnostic point of view.  I take a look at common spiritual concepts such as the Ego, the Soul, Karma, Detachment, Heaven, God, Meditation, Vegetarianism, and Astrology, and examine them from an objective, “devil’s advocate” perspective.  In other words, I analyze these ideas from all angles, including the possibility that they are valid, and the possibility that they are not.  I do come to some conclusions at the end of the book, but it is less about preaching and more about the use of logic when exploring Spirituality.

 2. What inspired you to write this book?

Well, let’s see—I was getting close to my 40s, was in the middle of a divorce, and was realizing that my numerous entrepreneurial attempts were not working and I would have to return to the corporate world.  That was enough for me to dive headfirst into the lap of Spirituality!

When I did, I realized that a lot of existing material is written from a “purist” point of view, i.e. the idea of Karma or Detachment is not questioned, rather the focus is on how to incorporate these concepts into one’s life. I wanted to take a step back because I was not sure whether I even believed in these ideas in the first place.

So I had to do my own analysis of all that I came across.  I wrote the book because I simply wanted to share whatever knowledge I’ve acquired with those who might think similarly to me.

3. How did you come up with the title?

I have no clue – it was the first or second title I came up with, so it happened so fast that I don’t remember what triggered it.  I’ve had to labor over the choosing of a name for my other startups/projects, so I’m not sure how I came up with this one so easily.  Maybe God sent it to me (if there is one!)

4. What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

This is my first book, so my writing was pretty juvenile at first.  I had written short articles for local newspapers before, so I wasn’t a complete novice.  However writing a book is much more challenging.  There is more opportunity to ramble on and not be clear and concise when trying to make a point.  I tried writing my first draft almost three years ago, and it was awful.  I made another attempt a year later.  Then one day, I was reading a book that was written very naturally, with a lot of humor, and I realized that the “voice” of the author was similar to the “voice” in my head.  No, I was not a crazy person, what I mean is that the way he wrote was the way I thought.  And I realized that if I simply write whatever I am thinking, without trying to formalize or alter it too much, I can communicate much better.  So that’s what I did, and voila! . . . the words started flowing.

5. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Give yourself time to “forget” the manuscript while writing.  It was REALLY tempting to just edit quickly and get the book out.  It’s exciting to see your name in print, after all.  However I made myself resist, and took the time to set aside the book for 2-3 months between edits.  That really made a world of difference as to how I was able to revise and improve the book.

6. What book are you reading now?

Actually I usually finish a book within a day because I’ve got this bad habit of not being able to stretch out a good book over a period of time.  If it’s good, I must finish it immediately.  Sometimes I’ll even have to read the ending to a book, just to spoil it for myself so I can get back to work.  But I’ll still go back and read the book eventually, it’s just that I won’t have the itch to ignore all of my other tasks and focus on it exclusively.

So I’m not reading anything currently.  However the last book I read was a biography of Marilyn Monroe.  I love reading biographies of famous or accomplished people, such as celebrities, entrepreneurs, people who underwent hardships and survived, politicians, and anyone who has gone through experiences that were extraordinary.  It’s always inspiring to learn about people who’ve excelled at what they do.

7. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I don’t think I’ve presented anything that hasn’t been discussed before, the concepts I analyze are not new.  But I think I’ve presented these concepts in a different way—a way that is entirely unique and might click with the skeptics out there.  In fact, this is a Spirituality book for those who normally don’t read Spirituality books.  So even if you’re the type who normally dismisses a book like this, you might want to take a minute to check it out.  You may be pleasantly surprised.  You can read a few chapters on the “Excerpts” tab at http://www.3ChipsOnGod.com.

If you do read the book, I am very interested in hearing your feedback, so I hope you will take the time to write me, or to post a review on Amazon.   The whole fun of writing a book is to connect with others, so your feedback would be warmly appreciated.

Lastly, I want to thank you for taking the time to learn about 3 Chips On God, and for the opportunity to share my thoughts.  Thank you for your support, and I hope you enjoy the book!

Now you can enter into the giveaway for one paperback copy (US only) or two e-book copies of this absolutely amazing book, I’ll Put 3 Chips on God — Just In Case There Is One.

The rules? Just leave me a comment with your email address and what your thoughts on karma are. Drawing will happen on October 31st morning through Random.org. Giveaway ends on October 30th at midnight.

Thanks so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “Preeti Gupta Interview and Giveaway!

  1. Thank you for the comments. I am not 100% sure I believe in Karma either, but I do think there is a strong argument that can be made for the fact that it might be true. I talk about that in chapters 8 and 9 of the book, if you get a chance, see what you think….but yes, I agree, there is no absolute proof that it exists.

  2. Not sure about Karma. I’m a doubter, but I do think that, eventually, negatives take their toll on you as a human being, and positives lift you up. Maybe not Fate, but cause and effect. Your soul gets smutty from too many bad deeds.

Leave a Reply

