REVIEW: The Spirit Archer by Mike Evers

Title/Author: The Spirit Archer by Mike Evers

ISBN: 1475050429

Buy it link (Amazon)

Rating: 2 1/2 stars

Goodreads synopsis: Some secrets are meant to be shared; and a boy’s encounter with England’s most legendary archer will change his life forever.
In 1237, a man journeys to a priory in Yorkshire to seek refuge and treatment for battle wounds. He is betrayed and murdered. His final, dying act is to fire an arrow through a window, asking to be buried where it lands.
Nearly eight hundred years later, a schoolboy’s incredible discovery will lead to a friendship that will alter his life forever.
And he’ll hear some tales and secrets of England’s most legendary archer of all.

I received a free copy of this e-book in exchange for an honest review over at the Early Reviewers group at Librarything. I love Robin Hood and King Arthur…there’s just a soft spot in my heart for those two legends. This book was a disappointment. On the one hand, the book gave me alot more information on the Robin Hood legend than I knew, kudos for that. But then on the other hand, the book was way too short. Characters weren’t well-developed, and descriptions were sadly lacking.

Now I understand that the British slang lent a sense of realism to the story, as an American it was a little difficult to get through, but I did. It didn’t throw me too much off the story. However, there was one thing that wasn’t described at all that I couldn’t for the life of me picture and that was the “two finger salute”. What the heck does this look like? Obviously I got the idea that it was something similar to flipping the bird to someone (also known as the middle finger salute), but I had to google it to get the gist of it.

Hmmmm….I wonder if anyone at work knows the meaning of it….

Leave a Reply

